The Results Are In

They say the waiting is the hardest part and man, oh man, when you are waiting for a pregnancy test it sure is!  The fertility clinic gave me a whole list of things I couldn’t do until the pregnancy had been confirmed via blood test.  Of the Refrain From Or Else List, no running, no lifting over 40 lbs, and no sexual intercourse were really getting to me.  But I still had to wait the ten days until I would have enough of hCG (the pregnancy hormone) to register.

I am part of a surrogacy support group on Facebook, and all the ladies there were taking home pregnancy tests and posting pictures of them.  But I was afraid of testing too early & getting a false negative & then being bummed out & possibly stressing out….and God forbid Wayne or the parents find out….  So I exercised my will power & held out as long as I could, which was Friday (14th, Valentine’s Day).  It felt as if an eternity had passed before the test FINALLY registered, though I suppose it wasn’t more than a minute and a half.  And it was a sweet sigh of relief to see this:
wpid-1392386434346.jpg
That 1-2 means one to two weeks pregnant 🙂

I did have my actual blood test the next day.  Urine stick tests are not as accurate as blood tests and cannot test for the amount of hCG hormone in the blood stream, only that it is present.  In general pregnancies it doesn’t really matter, especially if the woman knows the date of her last menstrual period.  However, when doing an IVF pregnancy exact numbers are necessary.  Thankfully I didn’t have to go all the way into Hartford again to the fertility clinic there, but instead got to use a regular lab clinic for the blood draw.  They opened at 7am Saturday morning and I was the first in line, ready to go.  But, then I had to wait all day to get the results back.

A nurse from Pacific Fertility Clinic, the IP’s clinic in California, called around 6pm to inform  me of my results.  I was told that a 50 or more was needed to indicate a pregnancy.  My results were 115!  While the numbers were great, I wasn’t in the clear yet.  I would have to return in 48 hours to take another test to make sure that the hCG levels were rising like they should.  That meant that today I was there again at 7am with my sleeve up dishing out more blood.  This time, I was told that it was necessary for my numbers to have doubled from my previous test.  And BAM! I came back with a 270!!

I am certifiably pregnant!  After so many months of idle chatter with Wayne and signing and resigning of paperwork, we have finally gotten this party started and it feels great.  But at the same time, it’s a little intimidating.  We are past the point of no return and I do have fleeting moments of wondering if I’ve gotten in over my head.  And I find myself having to talk it up a lot in my head.  I am weary of how it will all play out; the doctors, the parents’ involvement in the the pregnancy, testing, and my first hospital birth.  Though I’ve been pregnant three times before, this is my first in so many ways.  This is going to be an interesting journey to say the least.

One response to “The Results Are In

  1. congrats!! such an amazing feeling! xo

Got something to say?

