1000 Miles for 2014: January

My New Year’s Resolution is to run 1000 miles in the year 2014.  It shouldn’t be too hard to do since it is less than 3 miles a day or less than 20 miles a week.  However, planning for my surrogacy, I know that I will have plenty of time off and will not be training for any marathons this year, so I feel it’s a good challenge.

I wasn’t as gung-ho about my goal until the middle of the month, which is too bad because I could have put in some extra miles to get myself ahead.  But the dark mornings and sub zero degrees were a real goal deterrent and I often opted to sleep in.  Whomp, whomp, whomp!

After getting used to getting out there in the dark, and dressing properly for a Polar Vortex, I was able to recommit and get a few good runs in.  I am proud to say that yesterday, January 31st, I was able to finish the month with a grand total of 84.5 miles, which means that I am ahead!  Today’s long run of 13.2 miles as already put me ahead for the first week in February.

What are your goals or resolutions for 2014? Are you still sticking to them, or have you already fallen behind?

Got something to say?

