Thankful #20: Having my Parenting Methods Challenged

Most people are not thankful to have their parenting style scrutinized or questioned, but you know what, I am.  I was told today that my disciplinary methods of utilizing the Time Out Chair & separating the two fighting boys into different rooms were “Lame”.  I was then told that spankings & hitting harder than the child himself could hit was a much better option.  Striking the child was the only way to get a point across.  Period.

Ugg.

While I clearly disagreed, I had to think about WHY I chose my parenting choices.  Were mine really any better?  Were there holes in mine?  Was I really just being too soft on the boys…were they running me?!  And what was really so wrong with the alternative?  I don’t like debates or confrontation,  but I really don’t like being called lame or having someone insinuate that I’m a bad parent. So I had to stand my ground.  Aaaaaaaand the discussion ensued.

Okay, so it doesn’t really matter who said what, but basically I left feeling pretty damned confident in myself.  And why is that?  Because I went with my gut. Then when I sat back & had to think about (and defend) my gut instincts, I still felt right.  Often in my parenting I don’t think about what I’m doing or why.  I just do stuff because it was the way my parents did it or because it just feels right.  But I really should look at myself & analyze how, what & why I do what I do.  After all, these are my children and they are the most important things in my life, and I want to be sure that I’m not just coasting along, but am actually doing it right & for the right reasons.  I am thankful for the individuals who question or challenge my parenting choices because they force me to really think about it.  And then they reaffirm my self confidence.

Got something to say?

