Thankful #9: Fellow Writers

Sometimes I have to take a break from writing. Writing, for me, is like a roller coaster ride. I start off slowly inching my way up the first big hill, clickety-clacking all the way as anticipation and excitement mount. I hover at the crest for a moment, weightless and giddy. And then the plummet back to Earth begins. The coaster rattles on it’s track as it picks up speed and I fear derailment. When I sling shot through a loop-de-loop I wonder if I’ll make it back through or fall out of my seat. The ups and downs and upside downs of writing can be thrilling as well as traumatizing. While I may be the writer, I am most certainly just along for the ride.

Sometimes I get really stuck with writing too. I occasionally get writer’s block or write myself into a corner. Other times I’ll end up lost within my own plot and have to stop & ask for directions on how to get back out. If I find myself struggling with writing for any reason, I find that a book is almost always the answer. In fact, I have found that reading is a writer’s greatest tool. I’ve always had some issues with writing and sleeping. When I really get going on a story I can easily get carried away by it. I’ll either be up at 2am, furiously tapping away at the keyboard, or I’ll be up at 2am trying to shake off the sweat from a bad dream. Either way, it keeps me from sleeping which, as you can guess, causes problems with day to day life as well as the quality of my writing. And it means that I really need to take a reading break. I am thankful for everyone who writes, especially those that publish, because reading the work of others inspires me to write. It helps me get going when I’m headed up a hill, but it also brings me out of my own works, and encourages sleep. Just reading a book reminds me that I’m not alone on the ride, and that others are up late too.

Got something to say?

