Thankful #8: My Son Has a Friend (And I Do Too)

A lot of folks are posting about various things they are thankful for the month of November, and a week in I think everyone has mentioned being thankful for friends and family.  I didn’t want to be trite or vauge, which is why I’m not listing that way.  My previous posts have mentioned family, especially my kids, which I am wildly thankful for.  But I suppose I just want to be more specific as to why I am thankful for each thing.  As for friends, well, I have felt kind of bad not mentioning them until now.   I was trying to save the friend post, but now is as good a time as any.

Believe it or not, I have a friend.  I actually have a couple of friends, though I do see them on a regular basis.  It has gotten a lot harder to maintain friendships since I’ve become a mom and even harder since we went down to being a one car family.  Yeah.  I really don’t get out much and this ends up effecting everyone.  I was getting a little antsy for my older son because he wasn’t getting out & interacting with others as much as we used to.  In Springfield, we would go to classes at the library at least once a week, as well as playdates at the park (or the indoor play area at the mall on foul weather days), family grocery shopping trips, and “adventure” walks to the pond.  Yes, he has his younger brother to play with, as well as the neighbor kids when they are allowed outside.  But he wasn’t being properly stimulated by any of them.  And he wasn’t looking forward to anything anymore.  Then, low and behold! A friend arrived!

My husband’s friend’s wife, who I met on Facebook brings her two children about once a week.  And, for a few hours each week the boys run around and play while she & I talk and play with and nurse our babies.  And it’s just great.  For those few hours a week I don’t feel like I’m the only one with certain parenting “issues” and I get to talk to an adult!!  Adult conversation–even if it is mostly about kids–is oh so coveted in this house.  She is also nice enough to come to us week after week and for that, I am truly thankful.

But, more importantly, I am thankful for AM’s friend.  It is so delightful to watch his face light up when their little blue car pulls into the driveway.  Because of this new friend, my boys are picking up new interests, quickening their language development, and are actually showing empathy.  He gets a good dose of intelligence and reasoning in only a brand that another kid can deliver.  They both look forward to their play dates and talk about them six days out of the seven that he isn’t here.  My boys are happy and learning because of him, and for that, I am thankful!

Got something to say?

