Thankful #1 Writing Challenges

I will have to say that my first thankful post is also going to be about writing because, well, I’m just thankful for it.  I am thankful for these writing challenges because they are making me think and they are making me write, and those are two things that I really haven’t been doing a lot of lately.  I am thankful for NaNoWriMo because, even though I think I may be throwing a good story away, at least I am FINALLY writing down that story.  It’s a dirty way of doing it, but I honestly don’t think I’d ever get around to it if it weren’t for the challenge of it.  Some writers I know aren’t participating because they are busy, which I find funny only because the year I finally suck it up & join is the busiest year of my life!  I’m a stay at home mom to three children (two toddlers and a newborn), so it’s not like I have a lot of free time on my hands to write.  But I am good at crunch time and I’m super excited over challenges and dares, so this is just right for me.  I am so thankful for this push because the story I’m writing is important to me.

I’m also thankful for the blogging challenge because I do need to reflect on the good things in my life (and it doesn’t hurt to have another writing exercise on the side).  Not a lot of people know this, but being a mom is stressful!  And when you get into mom-mode, parts of your brain tend to shut down while you read and re-read the same board books and eat the same play food sandwhich for the umpteenth time.  After my children are sent off to bed, I generally flip on the boob-tube or veg out on Facebook.  I turn into mush until I turn in for the night and resign myself to a four hour coma.  I never reflect.  I never just think.  Pondering, philosophizing, wondering, writing used to be some of my favorite things.  They made me feel smart, like I could come up with some answer to some worldly problem or question.  But thinking is work and at the end of a very long day I just don’t want to work anymore.  Motherhood has made me lazy in that sense.  So, yeah, I’m thankful for these challenges because my brain desperately needs the workout.

Got something to say?

